

Fairwood Public School School Council Meeting Minutes Date: October 6, 2022

Meeting Start: 6:30

Fairwood Principal/Staff: Melissa Murray

Council Members present: Bonnie Dalton, Diana Scheddin, Caitlin Ceci, Cynthia

Ballantyne, Ashley Mutch and Chrissy Kiefer

Attendees: Bonnie Dalton, Michele Sloss, Caitlin Ceci, Alan and Zhyouing Li, Allyson

McLeod, Ashley Mutch, Cynthia Ballantyne, Diana Scheddin, Chrissy Kiefer

Approval of Minutes: *n/a this meeting (first meeting)*

Approval of Treasurer's Report: (VOTE Required)

Prepared by Cynthia Ballantyne (with office staff: Pat Best)

Co-Chair's Report:

Principal's Report:

- Purpose of Council
 - o Council page on School Website
 - Constitution
 - Acts as advising group
 - Support with communication between community and school
 - -e.g., fundraising
- School Updates
 - new staff (Mrs. Cortrara, Mrs. Canellos (December), Mrs. Beshay, Mr. Brannigan)
 - literacy focus
- Graduation update No specific direction from the Board at this time
- The Grade 8 graduation ceremony is meant to recognize the transition to high school, and is no longer viewed as a student's only graduation. It is our expectation that all students will graduate high school
- Graduation ceremonies need to reflect both student interests as well as family realities. Many of our families are navigating food, housing and employment

insecurities. As we proceed with planning as a school, both of these elements will need to be at the forefront of our planning

Fundraising Report:

- Supports for families holiday baskets, lists of community resources
- To follow up at November meeting- wishlists from Fairwood staff will be in
- Coat drive/ gently used clothing items Fairwood Instagram page
- Grad fundraising February/ March

Action item considerations and updates:

- Request made for Council to cover costs of hoodies for each graduating student. Voted and approved
- Future meeting dates (6:30 p.m.): Thursday, November 10, Thursday, January 12, Thursday, April 13
- Here is our executive for this year:

Co-Chairs: Bonnie Dalton and Diana Scheddin

Secretary: Caitlin Ceci

Treasurer: Cynthia Ballantyne

Fundraising: Ashley Mutch and Chrissy Kiefer

Adjourned at: 8:30pm